Kalvarija

The pilgrimage tradition is still alive at St. Rok. Several thousand people gather here on the holiday of the patroness Many of the Assumption (15 August) and name day of St. Rok (16 August). The church is a part of the pilgrim triad: Sladka Gora – Tinsko – Sv. Rok.
Under the Church of St. Rok, there are 14 chapels distributed on the northern slope of the hill, all decorated with statues and frescoes. The building of the complex was finished with the first chapel of St. Rok in 1753, and the entire Calvary complex was built in ten years.
 
14 chapels of the Stations of the Cross, decorated with rich Baroque décor, are distributed along a zigzag road towards the pilgrimage Church of St. Rok. The road leads pilgrims, travellers or tourists among chapels in the way that they always only see their next goal on the way and so that it shapes a kind of a scene similar to a theatre. In the crosswise positioned chapels, Christ’s suffering is presented with stunning statues of a natural size and frescoes.

TIC Šmarje pri Jelšah
Aškerčev trg 24
3240 Šmarje pri Jelšah
KONTAKT
T:
+386 (0)3 810 72 64 +386 (0)31 575 056
E: